top of page

About Us

The Ministry Area serves the communities within the Llynfi Valley, Upper Afan Valley, and Bryn.

We are part of the Diocese of Llandaff within the Church in Wales. 

We have five churches located across the Ministry Area. 


We meet regularly for worship and have procedures in place to reduce the risk of Covid.

Would you like to attend a church service or worship with us online?

Faith Seeking understanding

As Christians we seek to learn more about our faith and the world in which we live.

Would you like to learn more about the Christian Faith?

Outreach and Community work

We attempt to live out our faith within the communities in which we live.

Would you like to learn more about the ways we serve our community?

are we?

Spanning the Upper Afan Valley, the Llynfi Valley, and Bryn we have six churches across the Ministry Area. 


Would you like to find our more about our six churches? 

Our Area


The Old Parish of Llangynwyd is traditionally believed to have been founded by St Cynwyd in the late 6th century, and it is certainly recorded that in Norman times the Parish of Llangynwyd was active and had its own Vicar, the first recorded Vicar being Grono in 1234 and it is believed that he would also have acted as Chaplain to the garrison at Llangynwyd Castle.  At that time and indeed until late Victorian times the Parish of Llangynwyd stretched from Coytrahen to Aberbaiden in the South, to the top of the Llynfi Valley in Caerau in the North where it joined the equally ancient Parish of Glyncorrwg.  The old Parish of Glyncorrwg is also smaller now than it was in the past having initially lost but then recovered what was known as the Parish of Afan Vale and villages such as Blaengwrach in the Neath Valley, which were originally part of it.   

Glyncorrwg is also a very ancient Parish.  It is believed that this Parish was also in existence since the 6th century when Corrwg, a monk from Llantwit Major settled there with his followers.  It is also believed that Corrwg founded a monastery and became a Bishop in Brittany where he died in 549.  The stone church is believed to have been built again sometime in the Norman era. 

The Ministry Area to which we now all belong is vast.  Its most westerly point is near the Bryn entrance to the Cwmwernderi Reservoir.  It then goes north, taking in the village of Bryn, most of the Afan forest park before turning eastwards and then north-eastwards around Cynonville, Abercregan and Glyncorrwg.  Eventually at its most northerly point, it overlooks the lakes of the Rhigos and the site of the old Tower Colliery.  It then travels south skirting Abergwynfi and Blaengwynfi, eventually coming back into the Llynfi Valley and going down to Cwmrisca Farm and Ffordd y Gyfraith. The six churches within the Ministry Area all serve different kinds of congregations and different styles of worship.



The Reverend Martyn Evans 

Ministry Area Leader


Tel: 01656 718449





The Reverend

Beverley Reaney


Tel. 01656 734142




Ministry Area Officers

Interim Lay Chair: Dr Ann Morgan


Treasurer and Administrator: Mrs Barbara Harding


Ministry Area Wardens: Mr Rhodri Jones & Mr Christoper Jones


Safeguarding Officer: Mr Tony Mullins


Eco Officer: Mrs Cheryl Rowlands

 "Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen."

- 1 Peter 4:10-11

bottom of page